December 26, 2012

  • Reflections and Images

     

    This is the head of a letter opener. The actual bird is about an inch long. Some poor slave from an undeveloped country was probably paid $.15/hr. to paint this, which I bought at my favorite bookstore (Lowry’s Books in Three Rivers) for not much of anything. Several years ago, actually.  Long enough ago that Tom may no longer carry them. I shot this photograph with my new macro lens. Gloat, gloat.

    It is the day after Christmas, gray, cold and windy. Both dogs are huddled in lumps on their respective couches. The cat is wadded up in a ball between my feet. Nancy went to work. I promised to steam clean the carpets, which I will do fairly soon. As they are apt to do, my personal possessions have fanned outward and are now occupying more space than originally allotted. It is that awkward time of year when everyone has two calendars handy, one for the waning year, one for the waxing.

    Annie’s sweatshirt came today. It’s pink. I was going to put it on her and take a picture of her, but she determined this was not an adventure she wanted to have at this exact point in time. It’s hard for me to tell how much hair she is supposed to have, but I am fairly sure there are exposed areas of Annie that are not part of the original design. When she sits, poised like a masthead in the front seat, she shivers. On the other hand, when she dashes outside to bark at the neighbor dogs there is no real evidence of freezing behavior and she’s considerably more exposed, so it may be she’s trying to con us. At this rate she’s going to have more clothes than I do.

    The Artists Gallery downtown is open through Saturday this year, so those of you who failed to dash down and buy fine artisan Christmas gifts could still make it. I need to run through my photos and find something worthy of entry in the Carnegie show next month.

    Nancy and I had a nice, laid back, healing season this year. Life is good.

    And the New Year is coming…

     

Comments (4)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *