December 21, 2012

  • Of Unknown Things and Moving Doors

    I was willing to die in ignorance as long as it was quick. However, now that it appears the apocalypse has once again been miscalculated or delayed…

    What is this?

    It is not a good photograph. I am still learning macro photography with a 18-200mm zoom lens.

    I can help, just a little. It really is not bejeweled. I found it carefully preserve for the Next Time I Need It in my jewelry box (one of three) which I have decided to repurpose because…I almost never wear jewelry (much less three boxes of it.)  I photographed it (amid the dust and stray hairs) on an angle and in order to keep it there, I pierced the hole in the shaft with the cut emerald earring (the ONLY cut emerald earring) I am saving for Whenever I Find the Other One (which will probably not be soon since I lost it in the carpeting of my house in Jackson, which I sold in 1999.)(The carpeting AND the house.)(At the same time.)(Together, really.)

    I think it looks important. Like a watch part, although if it were a watch part, the watch itself might be seven or eight inches in diameter. 

    I cannot throw it away until I know what it is and what the likelihood that I will need it again might be.

    I have jars of this stuff.

    Nancy, the dogs, the cat and I are huddled down inside, braving the blizzard. Well. The dogs have been out. We have about an inch of snow, which is an inch of snow WAAAY too much for Annie. Does not like snow. No, no, no. Makes her feet cold. The only thing she can do in snow is fast running, which she does very, very fast, ending in a full-bodied slam through the dog door.

    I fear for this dog’s future.

    Riley walks up to the dog door, sticks his nose in, stands there a minute, contemplating his options, and then very carefully steps inside. Annie hits the door from halfway across the lawn at about thirty miles per hour.

    The winds also hit the dog, which creates a draft that runs from the dog door directly across the Conservatory and up my spine. This is one of several reasons I can cite whenever prodded for moving the dog’s access to the house to the back room. I want to close the storm door.

    So eventually we will be having the other dog door installed and this one closed off.

    And Annie will go outside.

    Bark, “Eek! Snow!”

    Throw herself bodily through the dog door of habit and fracture her skull.

    Remind you a little of that horrible ad they ran a few years ago, “Whatever happened to that cute little puppy…?”

    “Whatever happened to that cute little black dog you guys used to have?”

    “Oh, we still have her: she jammed her head through in the storm door a while back, so now we just feed her out there.” 

    I can hear the dog police coming as I type.

Comments (6)

  • I am no expert but it looks like an extender to me, possibly to extend a necklace, since it is in your jewlery box.  It could also extend a pants by hookin on the button and the button hole. 

  • @michigay - Interesting. It’s about an inch long. It was in the jewelry box because such boxes tend to sit on the tops of things, making them handy catchalls for objects random stuffed into a hand or pocket. You could be right. I lean more toward a spring attached to both hooks as part of a mechanism, but then–I’m the one who doesn’t know what it is.

    How are you? I have some things for you, by the way.

     

  • It is possible the springs pulled the devise to and fro and the tapered center section then opened or released something.  I think you will most likely have to live without solving this mystery.

  • @michigay - So something somewhere doesn’t work right. And hasn’t for a while now. And apparently I haven’t missed it all that much. Thanks, Bob (no sarcasm intended. Really. Thanks.)

      

  • it’s a needle threader.

  • @disillusionisreal -Really!!!!  I could use one of those… Thanks!

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *