June 21, 2013

  • Musings of no Importance

    I have been saving past blogs to my hard drive. There is a method set up to archive all of the blogs through Xanga, but I am convinced I will end up with a bunch of files I can’t use because they’re written in some language my computer refuses to understand. I’m saving them, blog by blog, in Word. Which is pointless… Old Word files die over time as well, it’s just…my printer won’t print color any more and it’s a pain to print in B&W (requires diligence and additional keystrokes–otherwise everything comes out green.) I suspect whatever is wrong with my printer is a simple clog, but I have no idea how to fix clogs and when you can buy them for $50, no one fixes them any more…

    The dogs are at work, the chickens are fine and it’s not quite time for lunch yet. Someone is mowing their lawn. The birds are chattering away in the yard. Peter peter peter 

    Annie and I have class tomorrow morning. She was home with me all day yesterday while Nancy came and went, running errands, shopping for groceries… She did bark and do a lot of running in and out, but she’s better. She’s still Annie, however. She and Nancy went out last night to shut the chickens in the coop and Annie sat as instructed while Nancy went through the yard door. However, Annie very much wanted to go too and the release cue for ‘wait’ needs a little work yet, so she concluded waiting and bolted into the hen yard (being four times as fast and Nancy or I have ever been, and certainly are not now…) Nancy expected her to dash right through the coop doorway and decimate all four hens before she, Nancy, could even get there: she didn’t. We’re not sure why, but the chickens are fine. Instead Annie decided her diet needed a generous helping of chicken shit, and so she ate that, leaping from deposit to deposit to avoid Nancy’s grasp… By the time they made it back into the house Nancy was mad enough to kill, no treats had been dispensed for good outdoors-going, and Riley was burrowed down in tight in a hole somewhere. Annie came to me. Nancy’s gone crazy, Cheryl–she hates me now and I didn’t do anything wrong… 

    But the ladies survived, as did the dog.

    I have to say I have really been enjoying the weather lately. Today is a little warm, but the evenings are nice, the sunlight is wonderful, and nothing seems parched or dry quite yet. I’m happy. 

    And it would seem I am possessed of no particular insight or wisdom this…noon…so away I go. I will be steam-cleaning the carpets this afternoon, so the lovely attitude is doomed. On the other hand, it isn’t that hard, never takes anywhere near as long as I expect, and it will be nice to get it done. Again.

    And she’s coming. It’s lunch time.    

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *