June 13, 2013

  • The Secret Storm :)

    The Storm of the Century came and went. The wind blew, thunder boomed, lightening lit up the sky…

    *nose bump* I’m concerned, Cheryl.

    “It’s fine, Riley. It’s just a storm.”

    Oh, my God, Riley, what was that? Are you all right? Should we run outside and bark at something? I’m worried,  I’m really, really worried…

    Cheryl says it’s ‘just a storm’.

    Oh, thank God, because it scared me half to death. I’m just going to curl up in this chair here where I can watch Cheryl, because if SHE starts looking worried…

    Not me. Storms don’t bother me. ZZZzzzzz.

    We stepped outside to do our evening work. Most of that entails eating a Greenie. Cheryl has other expectations, but…she’s Cheryl. Riley took his Greenie out in the rain and he watered something himself. Annie never left the steps.

    I can’t go out there, Cheryl–wet stuff falls out of the sky on me.

    We all came back inside. I did a few of those things we all do just before we go to bed. By the time I reached the bedroom I was the last one in. Annie was sprawled out over my side of the bed, Riley was tucked up against the waterbed on the floor with his feet stuck out. He apparently likes to lay on the tiles because they’re cool. We have put a blanket down for him to sleep on (actually it’s a down comforter, a marvelous, fluffy bunch of warmth that neither I nor Nancy can sleep under.)

    Riley has only recently begun sleeping in the bedroom with us. He used to crash out on one of the couches, but Annie sleeps with us and he is, after all, the pack leader.

    But Annie sleeps on the waterbed, between Nancy and me (very best position: nose tucked against one, butt tucked against the other, feet s-p-r-a-w-l-e-d as far out as they’ll go for maximum bed coverage) but the water bed slops and it wiggles and it’s too hot.

    *nose bump* I can’t sleep on this thing, Cheryl.

    “Do you need me to let you out of the room?”

    No, I’ll just go lay on the floor over here. How long do you think you’re going to be in here, anyway?

    Anyway. I slept like the dead last night. I half-expected someone to wake me up (We have to go outside, Cheryl, really, right now…) But it never happened.

    We had power all night. (I would know. Many people just sleep through power outages, but I have a breathing machine. When it quits, Cheryl comes right up off the bed. Well. It’s not THAT dramatic, but I notice.)

    A friend has offered to help me navigate the blog sites and figure out how to set one up. I will probably take her up on that, I just…have 33 days, yet…

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *