June 11, 2013

  • The is…the end…?

    It would appear my blog site for life is going the way of my health insurance for life, my pension and my Social Security, all apparently included in the big punch line: ho, ho, ho, you didn’t think that would just go on forever, did you?

    I guess I should have known. One of my first jobs in a waterbed factory. The waterbed factory was the owner, the girlfriend who actually did the work, a graduate student, me, and a handful of other drop-in, drop-outs. We made waterbed and pool covers. We guaranteed the beds for life and sold them for about $10 apiece for a full-size. It wasn’t a bad gig. I was paid well, and for a long time the owner took us out every day for lunch. The problem: the plastic sheeting we made the waterbeds out of would only hold a weld for about three years. Sometimes longer. Eventually the beds would start to leak at the seams. No problem, right? The owners brought them back. And we would re-weld them. Unfortunately, the second weld looked excellent. It felt good to our hands. The one little thing it didn’t do was hold the two sheets of plastic together. We could literally weld the plastic, let it cool, and then pull the weld apart. We checked the welding machines, we checked….everything we know how to check… We ended up replacing the beds. Which, sold at perhaps not a realistic price evaluation in the first place, began to affect the business’ bottom line. You can guarantee anything for life, I guess: that doesn’t mean it will last that long.

    At any rate, the blog site is reorganizing. The last I knew they had 34 days to raise a boatload of cash, but even if they manage to do that, there will be changes. They can no longer afford to rent the building where they keep the server. Beyond that, there are a host of technical problems I do not understand. This is what I know: the lifetime membership I paid a few years ago appears to be the annual fee for the blog site they are recommending we check out. It’s not an extraordinary amount: it is a chunk of change and  a fairly self-indulgent one at that. I mean, face it: what exactly are my observations about my life, my random photography and my dogs worth a year?

    So far I have applied relied on a time-worn approach to solving this dilemma. I’ve decided not to think about it. 

     

Comments (1)

  • well that is sad. if you do move, please tell us where you go….I must have my weekly dose of Mommacakes wisdom. I’d hate to see it go, it’s where I got my blogging start…and although I haven’t blogged in a few years, I still check out those few that I deem worth reading….yours is always my first stop….

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *